When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

Getting my first check from my first job working at college doing work-study. I had never gotten a check before let alone, been given so much money before. I felt so responsible and grown-up. It always feels good knowing your hard work is being paid off in some way. I have always been the type of person who saves their money for a long time, so spending it all at once wasn’t a concern. It did feel good knowing I didn’t have to go to other people, like my mom, for things I need or want. I could just buy it myself. It’s a different feeling knowing the money you are spending is your own. You don’t have to feel bad or guilty, like you would if you were spending someone else’s money you borrowed or they loaned to you. That’s why I always work hard to make sure I can pay my own way or take care of my own needs. My first check motivated me even more to want to be independent and do my own thing.


Discover more from This is Brestylefire

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Published by brestylefire

Becoming my own boss

Leave a comment

Discover more from This is Brestylefire

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading